Giving it a Visual Style

I might not be to sure about what my final story will be but I do have a good idea of my aesthetic.

I would like to use a number of forms and styles of animations. I believe I will primarily us hand drawn, however I am interested in collage stop-motion as well.

Sample hand drawn

(looks better in motion)

As for color I would like to give my hand drawn works a watercolor look to them.

This is a link to a hand drawn animation i did a couple of years ago. I share it because of its simplicity. which is something that i’m interested in as I create my film world. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-t-dWpfKX5w

As for color I would like to give my hand drawn works a watercolor look to them. The music video Truth by Chiddy Bang (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAfKc9x01_k)  is an example of kinda what i’m looking for. I would use it for giving the characters clothes and maybe for giving the back ground an aesthetic as well. I would like the colors to alternate from frame to frame. This will cause there to be a lot of photoshop time but i’m ready for the challenge.

taken form Truth - Chiddy Bang

As for the mix-media part of the project I have in mind the an animation that was used by Orson Wells in “F for Fake”. In this film the animation is done through montage more then it is done through stop-motion effects. I’m not sure if its really the way i would use it as of now. But enjoy it as a means of telling story.

Taken form "F for Fake"

Taken form "Satellite" by Guster

Another form of stopmotion/mix media i would be interested in using is that of cut outs. Such as form the music video “Satellite” by Guster. If you haven’t seen this animation then I fully recommend it.

As for true stop-motion animation, I’m a fan of all of PESFilms. Specify  “Western Spaghetti” and “KaBoom!”. Both of which can be seen at EatPES.com

The Visual style will grow and expand… but hopefully become more defended as the project progresses. But this is the starting block from which I’m jumping from.

About jauquet

My name is Jade Jauquet. I live in Lafayette Colorado. I'm a senior at the University of Colorado Boulder, I'm currently working on my final film project. View all posts by jauquet

Leave a Reply

